支持穩定的情感發展 – 成為我們的思考家
2019 年 12 月 1 日

在弘志,我們深信社交和情感發展是幼年學習者在成長中所有發展領域的基礎。當孩子們在充滿關愛的幼稚園學習過程中獲得情感上的支持,他們便易於將這股對學習的熱情,投放於其他學習領域中,繼而邁向成功。隨著我們幼年學習者成長,他們在情感上的體驗會直接注入大腦記憶體內,再幫助建構其他發展。因此,特別注意兒童的情感需求是我們十分關注的項目。

我們的老師通過與孩子建立相互信任的關係來促進他們在社交和情感上的滿足。這種信任關係是透過老師對孩子表達關愛﹅彼此交流和尊重的基礎上建立出來的。在弘志,我們非常重視孩子的社交和情感發展。他們所獲得的幸福感,會為他們帶來無窮的喜樂;積極參與的學習者更能靈活地運用以往所習得的經驗,有彈性地解決衝突﹅分享和以交替之方式表達個人情感。

當孩子的情感發展得到滋養和強化時,他們便會對自我產生良好的認同感。這些積極的感覺有助益孩子們可以更專注於學習﹅互動﹅創造和邁向成功。幫助孩子建立其基本情感能力將豐富他們的生活所需,並增強他們的應變能力,使他們更易於適應未來的社會變遷。

對日常生活的起伏有積極看法的孩子們較能在認知﹅創造﹅建構和社交層面上進行自我伸展。能夠控制情緒的人將更有效地隨時迎接學習挑戰﹅建立經驗;提出問題,並以發現周遭的新奇事﹅富以創造性和全面的思考方式為根本。

致家長們的小錦囊

  1. 注意 – 注意孩子的反應和行為(例如付諸行動﹅沮喪﹅具攻擊性﹅拖延﹅自大或內向)。
  2. 查明原因 幫助孩子認識造成他們所經歷的感覺之原因。
  3. 溝通 與他人抒發情感可能是一種有效的溝通方式。
  4. 重視自我反思 重新思考問題的始末與所益。
  5. 鼓勵彈性 幫助兒童發展,使他們能更有效地﹅多角度地應對挫折及變化,和過渡時間的能力。
  6. 培養人際關係 由於與家人和朋友的關係會影響個人的感覺。因此,必須鼓勵孩子與人建立牢固的聯繫,學習給予和接受,以及解決衝突的方法,並製定和使用相互尊重的策略。家長可以通過與孩子進行聯合遊戲,讓孩子在過程中有足夠參與的機會,分享及欣賞各自的多樣性,並以協作或角色扮演來增進與同伴和家人的聯繫,幫助孩子提高人際技能。
  7. 建立自尊 孩子們經常面對不同的處境,家長有必要培養孩子在應對競爭環境或情況時的解決困難能力。家人的持續鼓勵可以大大增強孩子的自尊心,並給予孩子灌輸樂觀和寬慰之感覺。

Return

Warning: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/discovery/www/www/wp-content/themes/dt-the7-child/single.php on line 45

Discovery Mind Newsletter Autumn 2019

Supporting the Emotional Wellbeing of Our Thinkers

Here at DM we recognize that the social and emotional wellbeing of our young learners is foundational to all other developmental domains.  If children start Kindergarten in an emotionally supportive environment, they will acquire the love of learning necessary for success in all areas of school.  As our young learners develop, their emotional experiences literally become embedded in the architecture of their brains; therefore great care should be given to children’s emotional needs.

Our teachers promote the children’s social and emotional well-being by establishing trusting relationships, created when teachers express warmth, affection and respect.   At DM we place a huge emphasis on developing our children’s social and emotional well-being and are richly rewarded with happy, engaged learners  who are resilient,  can resolve conflicts, share and take turns and express their emotions in productive ways.

When children’s emotional development is nurtured and reinforced, they’re more likely to feel good about themselves. And, those positive feelings are enabling, so they can focus more fully on learning, interacting, creating, and succeeding. Helping children build upon their essential emotional capacities will enrich their lives and empower them—motivating them now, and into the future.

Children who have a positive perspective about the ups and downs of daily life are better able to stretch themselves cognitively, creatively, productively, and socially. Those who are able to manage their emotions are stronger for it. They’re ready to welcome learning experiences. To ask questions. And, to discover new, creative, and comprehensive ways of thinking about the world around them.

Practical Tips for Parents

  1. Be aware. Pay attention to children’s reactions and behaviours (such as acting out, depression, aggression, procrastination, arrogance, or introversion).
  2. Identify causes. Help kids recognize the causes that underlie the feelings they’re experiencing.
  3. Communicate. Talking about emotions with others can be an effective way to deal with them.
  4. Value self-reflection. Model and reiterate the benefits of thinking things through.
  5. Encourage resilience. Help children develop the ability to deal effectively—and creatively—with setbacks, and also with changes and transition times.
  6. Foster relationships. Because relationships with family and friends affect the way we feel, it’s important to encourage children to forge solid connections, to learn about give-and-take and conflict resolution, and to develop and use strategies that will keep interactions on an even keel. Parents can help children hone these skills by ensuring they have ample opportunities for active play, sharing, appreciation of diversity, consistent routines, collaboration, role-playing, and lots of peer and family connectivity.
  7. Consider self-esteem. Children often face uncertainties, have to cope with competitive environments or situations, or meet difficult expectations. Reinforcement and encouragement from parents can go a long way toward strengthening children’s self-esteem, and instilling feelings such as optimism and relief.

Warning: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/discovery/www/www/wp-content/themes/dt-the7-child/single.php on line 45